Utica Mansion

1090 Utica Ln, Angels Camp
(209) 559-1277

The Utica Mansion, built in 1882, is one of the most significant buildings within the historic gold rush community. In addition, it is the only house in the town dignified with the adjective “Mansion”.

Due to its construction and remodeling by the Leeper and Lane mining families and its long-time association with the Utica Mine, the largest and most important of the mines in Angels Camp, it reflects the height of fashion in the late Victorian era and stands as a reminder of the boom period of the large mines of the Mother Lode.

Originally a two-story stone Federal-style house when built in 1882. The addition in the 1890’s of wood frame wings to the north and west and surrounding veranda changed its appearance radically. The foundation of the Utica Mansion is of locally quarried green schist, Utica Mill was located up the slope between the house and Main Street. It remained the property of the Utica Mining Company until sold in 1952, serving as the center for major social events of the community for many years. With the exception of minor alterations to the lower floor in the 1950’s, the house appears as it did in the 1890’s.

The Utica Mansion currently serves as a unique historic venue for numerous special events. Take a look at the package deals they currently offer here: Utica Mansion 


*Please note that this is a private estate and not open to the public on a daily basis. If you would like to come visit, or set up a tour, please give them a call or submit a request through this link: Contact Utica Mansion